Really dumb move with Copy Cloner

nesika41

Registered
Instead of double-clicking the CC icon, I dragged the HD icon into the FW drive designated for CC. That didn't do anything, so I dragged HD back to desktop, then to trash. But there was still a HD in the FW drive, so I dragged it directly to trash. Then I double-clicked the CC icon and started the cloning process. When I came back later it had stalled, saying backup drive was full, which it shouldn't have been. I started to empty trash, but when it counted up to 59,000 items to be deleted, I quit that.

So, what's happened? By dragging the main HD to the trash (twice) did I copy them there, or what? Is it safe to empty trash? Or what?
 
Anything in Trash is still stored on the disc. If it wasn't, you wouldn't be able to drag it back out. If you need room on disc, you may have to empty the Trash. Lots of items in Trash take a lot of time to empty out, sometimes.
 
I don't exactly understand. If I halted the "empty trash" function BEFORE the final count of how many items were IN the trash, I couldn't/wouldn't lose anything?

And/or: if I drag the HD icon to the trash, and then do an "empty trash" command, and allow it to complete, I could not "lose" everything on the HD?
 
Dragging any drive to the trash will only eject it, not erase it. In the case of your bootup drive, nothing will happen. Dragging your hard drive to an external drive, or a folder will only create an alias, or shortcut. You can delete the shortcut and nothing will happen to your drive. Look through your trash to make sure that nothing important is in there, then empty it.
 
Back
Top