roll back Mac osx upgrade?

zeddeh

Registered
I am fairly new to Mac OSX and I just finished updating my OS to 10.4.3 However, now my spotlight rarely works and says "no results found" when I know there are files by that name on my hard drive. If it does work it usually takes about 30 sec, where before the upgrade it took maybe 2-3 sec.

I have looked on this forum for ways to roll back the OS upgrades but from the postings I see there seems to be no way to do this.

Is this true? I mean, what happens if an upgrade conflicts with a piece of software that you always use, how do you undo it? You can't possibly have to re-install the OS again, do you?

Thanks

bobw said:
In Terminal try deleting and rebuilding the Index

sudo mdutil -E /
Just in case bobw wasn't clear enough, this will force OS X to recreate your Spotlight index. If your main problem is with Spotlight, you should definitely do this before trying to downgrade. Downgrading in a pain in the butt any way you look at it.

zeddeh said:
I am fairly new to Mac OSX and I just finished updating my OS to 10.4.3 However, now my spotlight rarely works and says "no results found" when I know there are files by that name on my hard drive. If it does work it usually takes about 30 sec, where before the upgrade it took maybe 2-3 sec.
You might also want to take a look at Spotless: http://www.fixamacsoftware.com/software/spot/ - which is a great little utility for administering Spotlight.

zeddeh said:
I mean, what happens if an upgrade conflicts with a piece of software that you always use, how do you undo it? You can't possibly have to re-install the OS again, do you?