root priviledges screwed up my system

hiya

Registered
ok...I am new to UNIX and everywhere I read....be careful of what you do while logged in as root. I fear I may have done something bad and I need help. I had setup a guest account on Mac os 10.1. They had created a file on my 10.1 partition that they would not be using any more. I tried to use my admin capabilities to get rid of the file.....but I did not have privledges to do so. I logged in as rot and changed my 10.1 and other partitions to alow admin to have read/write access. Now when I try and start classic as any other user then root, I get: "You are running classic without superuser(root) privledges. Ensure that TrueBlue Environment is setuid and owned by root, or reinstall your Mac OS X system software." Also, I have noticed that I can't start or stop web sharing without my root login now. It could be this way for other system programs now, and I just don't know about it. What happened? What did I do wrong? and is there any way to correct it without throwing my current OS build overboard and starting all over again. I have a SCSI card in my system that has to be taken out everytime I want to boot from a OS 10 disc...so I don't really want to wipe out my system if I don't need to.

PLEASE HELP

Thanks
hiya

I tried to input that into the terminal window and stumbled upon what may possibly be my main problem-

when I open the terminal window at the top the terminal states:
login: setgroups: Operation not permitted"

when I try to do anything....it gives me some error....for instance if I type in su for super user access, it says:"su: setgroups: operation not permitted"

I need help

so u could try to login as root again, and then do the terminal stuff :)
i think the terminal should still work for the root user.