School Lab Annoying Problems - Please Help!

Pardus

Lurks: 15,289
Hello,

I am the tech at a school with 35 brand new emacs running tiger (10.4 - 10.4.4) Our server is running 10.3.9. Clients connect with manual ip config with Ldap/open directory. The only services running are AFP, DNS, NAT, OPEN DIRECTORY,PRINT AND WEB. We are having numerous problems and no one in the district has been able to fix it yet. I have used macs a long time as a graphic designer and fiddle around alot but I am new to servers. If any of you can help, I would greatly appreciate it.

Problem 1: Blue Screens
I have read a little bit about this one but havent found a real fix for it. Randomly at log out an emac will hang on the blue screen. I have just been force restarting them.

Problem 2: MS Word so slow starting
When a class comes in and logs in and loads word, it can take up to 20 minutes for everyones word to start up. If I allow small groups to log in at a time, it will take about 5 minutes. It usually hangs on the font menu optimization. I have gone into font book and resolved duplicates. removed the dofonts file, deleted the word font cache, repaired permissions but none of that seems to have made a difference. this is crippling our lab and really hope someone can enlighten me.

Problem 3: Emacs hanging on load screen at startup
I have had 4 emacs now freeze on startup on the progress bar. I have tried safe booting, starting from tiger disk and repairing disk and permissions. none seem to work. the only fix is to full restore from a master disk Image file i made

Problem 4: Hand in Folder for groups