SCO is starting to look in our direction

RacerX

Old Rhapsody User
I have been following the SCO vs. _____ (fill in the blank) case for quite some time now worried about the implications of an IT company whose primary product is law suits. Initially I was also interested in seeing just what code they thought they found.

I have had a long history with both Macs and Unix based computing. While in school, the mainstays of my computing world were Macs, Suns, SGIs and NeXT systems. But, as a student, I could only afford to own a Mac. Why? In the early 90s Unix was expensive. Of my current systems my 1991 SGI IRIS Indigo Workstations were about $10,000 back then, my 1993 SGI Indy Workstation would have been $24,000, my low end 1992 Sun SPARCclassics were $4,500, and to outfit a Mac with Apple's A/UX operating system was about $800. Even when NeXT finally made a PC version of NEXTSTEP, the price was about the same as A/UX. Unix was expensive, very expensive.

In 1994, while working at the National Science Foundation's Geometry Center, I came across a little system that would change all that for me. The Geometry Center (like most high end computer based institutions of the time) was running with Macs, Suns, SGIs and NeXT systems... no PCs. This was not surprising, the general feeling was that PCs were the tools of secretaries and gamers and had no place in the real computing world. Still, part way through the summer I find in a little back room a PC. Back then I thought the only reason for it being there was to play DOOM, but it was running a new operating system called Linux. It didn't do much, but it was free and running on a cheep PC.

By the end of the 90s the seeds of Linux had made major changes in how Unix systems were being priced. In 1998 I bought a PC to put Linux on it... and never did. Sun had released a version of Solaris for Intel that was free! Early the next year I bought my first SGI and OPENSTEP (replacing Solaris on the PC).