Security & Signal Interference W/wireless Mac-airport Express

Sassafras

Registered
I'm by no means a techie.
In my home we are using the Airport Express for wireless connection to my iBook G4 and to a desk top iMac G5 (w/Airport card), both are running Tiger OS 10.4.2. We set up using the Airport asst. and needed to call Apple for help to reset it when a PC family user was "helping us" to get connected and he "crashed it" (we couldn't receive an Internet signal which we think was the Airport doing it's job - security wise). Anyway, we also lost a signal on both systems for an afternoon even though the A.P. Express station had it's constant green light (which means it should work). We went into network assts. or something & got set up again. But Apple wasn't all that helpful in answering ?'s regarding security. Both units have only the network we created listed (which is a closed network) but I'm still wondering about phishing/hackers etc. because we do a lot of on-line shopping. Apple claims our Airport should have no detectable signal to a phisher.
Also, the Airport went out (no black bars on either unit) again the other day & was back up on it's own later. We have only 900MHz phones, no baby monitors. But the new neighbors have an electric guitar and amp? I'm assuming. (I've heard guitar amps can interfere.) Their house is close to the wall where A.P. Express is installed but these homes are 80 yrs. old, the walls are thick and probably plaster. Could something in their home mess up our signal & do we need firewall software? Sorry so wordy. Many thanks for any advice.
kathleensass@comcast.net

Yes, it is quite possible that something like the guitar amp could interfere. Even if the amp itself is a good distance away, it will be drawing a lot of current, and there's a good chance the power supply cabling runs through the wall and causes interference.