SERIOUS!!! I need input.

PCSMASHER

Registered
Has anyone ever dealt with addiction? Not of A MAC either...I deal with that all the time. I am talking about drug addiction. I have been dealing with getting my wife in to a detox. This is a really trying time in life and I would like to know if anyone else has gone through this and could let me know what they did to help with the pain. She went in on 3-8-02 and I am there every chance I get. Even though it is only 2 hrs a day it is just a terrible thing to work on.

Any advice that anyone has would be greetly appreciated.

Thanks
PC:confused:

I'm no expert...

*shrug*

I only know about the nature of addiction through amateur psychology and physical study, literature and film that dramatize clinical extremes, and a distant uncle or two that has a history of substance abuse. What I do know is that addiction is a very complex, multidimensional ordeal, varying from person to person, drug to drug, condition to condition.

The good thing is that the road to her recovery has begun by you getting her into detox, but it can't stop there since many addicts will visit detox more than once if they don't get additional help. It is imperative that treatment continues with personal, family, and/or relationship counseling. If this particular clinic doesn't have such components, ask for referrals.

This is because of course, as you said yourself, these are trying times, and most addicts and their loved ones feel awkward and disparaged about going back home and trying to either return to normal or begin anew. Seeking professional counseling is not something one should ever feel ashamed of. A "shrink's" methods to thought and resolution are quite organized and very effective.