Sonnet Card E/sata Access Freezes Computer

BuckoSama

Registered
I am a video editor using a Dual 2GHz G5 with 2.5 GB RAM running Final Cut Studio on OS 10.4.2. I know my way around computers; I've been building PCs since 1999, but my Mac knowledge is less than my Windows or Linux knowledge, as I've only been using a Mac for a little over a year.

I have a Sonnet Tempo-X eSATA 4+4 card in the Mac, which allows four internal SATA connections and four external SATA connections, along with a Apple-branded Gigabit ethernet card. Whenever I use the Sonnet card (that is, when I turn on the drives attached to it) after a period of time, any attempt to access any data on ony drive results in the Spinning Beachball of Death, which remains indefinitely (allowed 16hrs+ on multiple occasions). The card did work for a period of about two months before this problem appeared.

My own attempts to troubleshoot were as follows:

1.)Turn off any sleep functions on the Mac. This had no effect on the problem.

2.)I removed the PCI-X Gigabit ethernet card to check for incompatibility on the bus. I also moved the Sonnet card to each available slot. This had no effect on the problem.

3.)Reinstalled OSX and all programs, including Final Cut. This had no effect on the problem.

4.)At the time, all the drives were internal. I moved all drives to an external housing using brand new cables. This eliminated the possibility of it being a faulty cable. This had no effect on the problem.

5.)I tried each drive separately as the only drive conencted to the Sonnet. Each drive was able to crash the system independently. The computer does not crash with no drives connected to the Sonnet.
Each drive was put in a PC where the DOS utility provided by each drive's respective manufacturer was run. Each drive passed all tests.

6.)Called Sonnet. We cleared and regenerated KEXT files and made sure that the firmware was up to date. This had no effect on the problem.