Speed difference between new single 1ghz & dual 1.25 towers?

Rhino_G3

Registered
I'm finaly looking to replace the B&W G3 that I've been running for 4 years with a new machine. The only thing keeping me from getting the dual 1.25 tower is the significant price jump from the 1ghz tower. Obviously for a College student, price is a serious consideration. Truthfully, would the dual 1.25 tower be worth the added cost. I do work a great deal with photoshop and I've recently started to delve into the wonders of 3d animation via Maya. I had used bryce previously and was happy with the performance of my machine. Using maya, my machine definately shows it's age.
I've also gotten into video editing recently. Compressing video on my machine is a pretty extended process.

I feel that I would do quite a bit more editing if I had the faster machine but I still have a hard time justifying the added cost.

How do you feel that the singe 1Ghz tower stacks up against the 2x1.25 monster? Given that I'm currently on my B&W G3 I feel that I would be happy with either.

You can check the SpeedRun database.
www.danicsoft.com
It's sometimes difficult to know exactly which configuration is tested, but at least you can compare with your own machine. Based on these tests, 10.1.5 graphics is 50% faster than 10.2.3 on any machine, but processor and RAM access are much better on 10.2 !

It's important that the programs you want to use can actually UTILIZE the dual processors. They must do so in order for you to see a marked increase in performance. The dual processors don't do you as much good if the program doesn't use them. Photoshop does, and I am pretty sure a program like Maya should too.

Cheers.