Subverting SP X at the command line (super-geeks welcome)

Iritscen

Mr. Grumpikins
Table of Contents (hehe)
I. The Back-Story (read if you want to know why I want to know what I want to know)
II. The Geeky Questions (skip here if you want)

I. Okay, I'm no expert on OS X or its underpinnings. But I do like to hack my Macs using what little knowledge I have (hey, I've only fried one OS install and that was years ago! I learned my lesson about proper use of ResEdit!).

Those who use Snapz Pro X know that it doesn't allow you to change where the scratch files go. You can choose where the saved movie goes with a little finagling if you don't like the default locations it offers, but that's documented elsewhere. Back on the subject of scratch files, the reason this is so colossal a problem is that the scratch files are not (well, usually not) compressed and the usage is massive and like most people I have more space on external drives than the internal drive.

So, this led me to the simple question, where is that freakin' scratch file? Hint #1 was that Ambrosia says that you'd have to relocate your home folder to an external drive to move the scratch file. Hmm, ~ is a big cavernous place. Still couldn't find it. So I used a fantastic app with a terrible name, called fseventer, which monitors FSEvents (duh), and lo and behold, the scratch file is in:
/private/var/folders/[it gets hairy after this and pathnames vary from system to system]. Apparently that's a place Leopard designated for user caches. According to these guys, there's only supposed to be two folders in /private/var/folders, and I have four: eY, ef, zB, and zz. Hmm, that's illuminating. The tricky thing is, system caches are supposed to go in one randomly-named folder and user caches in the other. I'm guessing that in my case the e- folders are both for user caches and the z- folders are for the system... or the other way around. But probably I'm right. (The scratch file is in a subfolder of eY.)