Teaching Computer Illiterate Family Members?

dlloyd

Official Pianist
My Dad and I are both very proficient with computers, he works with them for a living (albeit on PCs), and I started learning to use them when I was about 5.
He taught me a lot of what I know, and he has always been there to answer my questions. I now know more about Macs than he does, and almost as much about PCs, even though I usually try not to use them.
Even with his tutoring, I learned most of what I know through experimenting. He used to have pretty strict rules on what I could and could not to on the iMac, and still does on his PC (he doesn't actually own the PC, his company does. That is reason). Because of these restrictions, I never seriously messed up the computer in any way.
Well, now I have my own iBook I can doing anything I like, without worrying about how badly I screw up (well... that's not quite what I mean, but at least if I mess up now, it doesn't effect anyone else :D).
My problem, and the reason I am posting this thread is this:
After I stopped using the old iMac, I reformatted it and installed OS X. At my Dad's request, I set it up so that my sisters (all younger) could use and administrate it autonomously, with a little bit of help from me. They mostly use it for web browsing, checking e-mail, and playing CD titles we borrow from the library.
This was all OK for awhile, I would help them out, oh, maybe once every few weeks or so (usually something simple like "How do I eject this CD, it won't work" or "I can't remember how to restart into OS 9": they are 12, 10, 8, and 6), but they usually ended up forgetting what I told them after a few days, and I had to repeat it. Once I had told them the same thing more than about three times, I tended to get annoyed.