The <bgsound...> html tag, .wav's, and Safari

MikeMTL

Registered
Hey everybody. I was wondering why Safari doesn't support the <bgsound...> tag when using .wav files. It works for MIDI files but I get nothing when loading pages containing the tag with Waves. Is this just a feature not supported by Safari or is there something I can do about it?

The tag I am using is:
Code:
<BGSOUND SRC="http://files.filehosting.org/ea69972.wav">
It works using the evil Internet Explorer but Safari just won't do it.

I am fairly new to HTML code so please word your responses for people such as myself. Thanks!

Multimedia in Safari is handled by QuickTime. You may have disabled .wav support in the Quicktime plug-in. Word to the wise, many of us find background sound very annoying.

Also, .wav is a Window file format.

You might have better luck converting it to something more universal like an .mp3...

Quicktime plays .wav just fine. WAVE files are uncompressed and, thus, tend to be large. But, there is no technical reason for a Mac user to be concerned about the format. Like TommyWillB, I would rather not have to deal with the Windows POS, but that is an aesthetic opinion, not a technical one.

A WAVE file is exactly the same as an AIFF file as they both use FLAC (Free Lossless Audio Codec).

You're more or less out of luck in getting a background sound to work on any platform as <bgsound> is a Microsoft proprietary tag and thus only works in IE as far as I know. It's non-standard and other browsers have no reason to support it.
Unfortunately, <object>, the correct tag to use, is about as unsupported as <bgsound>.

Be aware that background music is a most effective way to make visitors close their browser window in panic and pain. It's unexpected and generally disliked on web sites.
A related concern if you settle with bgsound is that the music will start from the beginning when the visitor clicks another page on the site or reloads the page. It quickly becomes quite annoying.