Torrent Lawsuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mephisto

Exemplar Iconoclast
I realize this is somewhat old news but since it just resurfaced I am curious as to what the astute readers here make of this lawsuit. I must confess I am of mixed feelings on it. On the one hand Apple needs to protect their interests and make a point that things like torrenting the private betas is not allowed. On the other what does Apple have to gain by continuing the lawsuit?

The young gentleman in question exercised very poor judgment in torrenting the beta. I have a hard time understanding how someone bright enough to get into med school could not know that a program that requires membership in the ADC, a seed, and an NDA could not be distributed freely. Even if you do not read the NDA logic should have told him this.

I am a programmer by trade and I feel very strongly about illegal copying of software (and music, movies, etc... ). Further in all honestly I believe that the seed creator knew what he was doing was wrong though he probably thought it harmless. But even with this in consideration I don't see the point in Apple continuing the lawsuit and suing him. There simply is nothing to gain morally, politically, or financially.

As a counterpoint though, most traders in illegal software are 15 to 20 something students or otherwise not able to afford a lawsuit against them. 30 something business owners who need software will buy it, not pirate a copy off a torrent. Should the studient be let off the hook for doing something they knew, or should have known, was not legal just because they can not afford the consequences of their actions?

Again I do not think continuing the lawsuit is right, but I do not see how Apple's actions are wrong either. Dropping the lawsuit seems to be the decent thig to do but what about when it happens again?

The main reason for following through with the suit is to set an example.