Warcraft 3 and MacBook Pro

DeadPrez

Registered
Hi, I recently purchased a Macbook Pro (2.0ghz, 2gig ram, 7200 rpm hd) and just finished playing a handful of sluggish 3v3 Warcraft III (Frozen Throne) games. I'm new to Mac so bear with me. My previous desktop is Windows XP on an AMD 2700+ w/ 1 gig ram and ATI 9800 Pro. In other words, shouldn't the MacBook Pro kick ass all over something nearly two years older?

My video settings are cloned from the PC. 1280x1024x16, model detail high, animation low, texture quality high, particles high, lights medium, shadows off, occlussion on, spell detail high. I'm not saying these settings can't be tweaked downward but I would have thought the MacBook Pro would have *easily* handled Warcraft III due to the next generation of video card and (duo core) CPU. Not to mention everyone swearing WoW and other games work at full settings.

Hopefully I am just a confused new Mac user that who hasn't tweaked a driver just right or something. Please help. I don't want to have to boot Windows just to get decent performance!

edit: Is it possible/probably War3 won't run at full speed if it isn't compiled as a universal binary? I just checked via the Activity Monitor and it says Frozen Throne is a PowerPC (as opposed to Intel) binary.

That's exactly the problem you're having. If your version of WarCraft 3 was for PowerPC, it's running through Rosetta, the PowerPC emulation layer. You might want to check Blizzard's website to see if they have a universal binary for the application that you can install. That would SIGNIFICANTLY improve performance.

This is seriously disappointing because I dropped like 3 grande on a Mac I was under the impression would run Warcraft III natively. Should have known there was a catch.