Web design costs guidance

agusgriego

Partially Insane
Hi, I'm a Designer from Argentina and regularly I work for clients in the US. Work is good but I think I'm charging too little for my work according to US standards. I would appreciate some guidance on this issue.

For example:
How much would you charge for designing a website like this from scratch (not redesign)? http://www.forex-signal.com/

And to redesign a website with this amount of information? http://www.besttechny.com

In any case I'm talking about high quality web design, both graphical and technological.

Thanks in advance for your answers,

Also keep in mind that the price varies based on location as well.

I always get more from work I do for companies in say, California or New York, or Dallas, vs in Oklahoma where I am from.

And in my experience, there are times when your price is probably lower to help them out on a budget, etc. So ultimately it's up to you. GOod luck

r

This sounds trite, but I would try raising your price to a point where you think it is too high and see what happens. I would only do this when you have enough on your schedule that it won't hurt if you get turned down.

I personally don't believe in market prices when you are the supplier. If you can get a lot done and can manage your time optimally, go low and stay busy. You will be MUCH richer for it. If you can't (and most people fit into this category), aim high. All bets are off if they are taking tenders from others, in which case you must either go low or build in special features or benefits that will justify your price. As Robn Kester says, know your region -- but especially know your company and its industry. Most mid-sized companies can handle a $2500 site without blinking, but for a small company in a competitive area that could be all the money the owner takes home in a given month.