Whats a Santa Rosa?

Bio-Gene

Registered
Um hey,

I was going over some news ads on some websites and I also went to some forums and I saw people talking about this thing called the Santa Rosa! From what I could get all I understood was that it is a new chip or something, like a crossbreed of centrino and Core-Duo! Not sure how powerful that would be but could anyone tell me what exactly it is?

Centrino is actually not a chip, but a "platform". The Centrino platform has used several chips, from the Pentium M to the Core Duo. Santa Rosa will be the next generation of the Centrino platform, and will be (initially) based on the Core 2 Duo.

I'm not an expert on the details of Centrino since it's never really been relevant on the Mac side. For more authoritative info, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Centrino#Santa_Rosa_platform

And that'll continue to be like that. Apple won't start to talk about the centrino platform etc. They talk about the CPU - and maybe about the integrated chips they're using (like MacBook's integrated graphics etc.). So we _are_ probably using some version of the centrino platform, but that doesn't really matter, anyway.

i think the centrino marketing thing is a disaster. it's so confusing.

"i want one of those new core duo laptops"

"how about this one?"

"but that's a centrino. i want a core duo"

"it is"

"?"

i think the centrino marketing thing is a disaster. it's so confusing.

"i want one of those new core duo laptops"

"how about this one?"

"but that's a centrino. i want a core duo"

"it is"

"?"

LMAO, That is true! Wow I always thought centrino was a chip now that is some big time confusion on Intels part lol! Ah well will check the wiki thanks again guys!