OS X applications are programmed to look for the prefs only in your home folder. If you attempt to move them from your user folder they will simply be recreated there by the applications the next time you run it.
By-the-way, whether you know it or not you are not the only user on your computer. There are a number of other system level users that are required for the operation of OS X and Unix.