Where does Mac osx and darwin begin ?

bbolin

Registered
You need to excuse me I'm very new to Mac osx. I have worked with FreeBSD for years. Also other Linux distributions.

From the Mac destkop it says 10.4(tiger). From a unix shell it says Darwin verion.number(don't have it in hand).

Is Max osx just the desktop version ?

Darwin is the UNIX-y part of OS X that most users don't ever see. It's also open source under Apple's license and uses the Mach microkernel. The part that gives you the eye candy and the other nice features of OS X is Quartz/Quartz Extreme (the rendering engine for the GUI) and Aqua (the eyecandy in the GUI). The sum of all of this makes up "Mac OS X."

You can download Darwin and install it on either a Mac or a PC (the latter being the reason many of the rumors about an x86 Mac OS X are now true ;)). There are also flavors of Darwin like OpenDarwin and GNU-Darwin that are distributed under their own licenses. If I am correct, all three Darwin projects collaborate with one another on technologies. The only thing that is missing from Darwin in and of itself is the proprietary Quartz and Aqua layers which make up Mac OS X.

Thanks for your reply.

So when your doing software updates from the mac gui, is it doing the "UNIX-y" stuff or the eye candy part?

Is the eye candy X11

No, the eye candy provided by Aqua is what makes up the look of OS X. The engine used to provide the GUI is Quartz, which is closed source from Apple. Apple does have an X11 that can be installed on OS X in order to run programs that use X Windows on OS X, like OpenOffice or GIMP.