Which Is Better, XAMPP or MAMP?

dgentry

Registered
I have tried to install separately MySQL, ColdFusion, and Apache, and I failed. I am a new Web developer but I am a serious one. I am using Dreamweaver. I am investigating XAMPP and MAMP. Which is better? Is there another package I should be looking at also? I want to develop shopping cart websites.

To be "serious," learn to program from scratch without a WYSIWYG editor. Truly understanding HTML/XHTML structure and proper syntax is absolutely vital to being a true, successful, and capable web designer. No drag-and-drop or WYSIWYG ("What You See Is What You Get") program will ever empower you to be a serious web developer.

"Real" shopping carts need two things: a database and something that accesses that database. Most commonly, people use a combination of php (an interpreted, server-side scripting language akin to C) and mySQL (a relational database) because they're powerful, fast, and, above all, completely and absolutely free.

I highly recommend you learn those technologies in the following order, not moving on from one until you fully understand it:

1) HTML/XHTML
2) php
3) mySQL

There are tons of free tutorials and training materials available on the web, but, in my own opinion, these things are best taught in a structured, paced environment... in other words, school, and lots of it. Of course, how you learn is best left up to you -- but always be aware that a self-taught programmer is a very dangerous programmer, and that's not "dangerous" like "James Dean" dangerous -- it's "dangerous" as in "atomic bomb" dangerous.