Which scanner, EPson 4490 or 4990? please help

antonioconte

Registered
I'm no expert on scanners and I could really do with a simple explanation of which one of these two scanner would be best suited to me please, either the epson 4490 or the 4990.

Basically I am a freelance graphic designer and I will mostly be scanning in flatart and lineart with the occasional 35mm transparency and maybe medium format. 60% of my scanning will be for website and 40% for print and visuals. I can connect via usb2 or firewire.

I need speed, don't we all? and I do like the fact that the 4990 has a light on the top which indicates the progress. I'm using 10.4.2 by the way.

Pricewise, macheaven is selling the 4490 for £235 or the 4990 on ebuyer for £290. Is the difference in price really worth it?

thanks in advance.

Okay - your question interested me as I recently did the search for a new scanner after my trusty old (read 'old') SCSI scanner died... It was a great, solid scanner (they don't make them like that anymore) but it was as slow as a waiting line at the Bank. In the end I got quite confused with all the new scanner models and decided that what I really needed was a photo printer instead - so I got the Epson 'all-in-one' RX510. It has a reasonable DPI scanner inbuilt and "WOW" - the scanner is fast, clean, and colour correct. I'm very impressed with Epson and more specifically their drivers for Mac OS X - which they update regularly. (This can be a problem with other manufacturers.) So, first things first, I'm glad you are only looking at Epson products, because seriously (for the Mac) they are the only ones to look at - (and 'no' I do not work for them...)