Widgets on desktop, possible in Lion?

peterv6

Registered
I've been running widgets on my OS X desktop for a few years, but since I've upgraded to Lion, the method of getting them onto the desktop doesn't work anymore. I used to be able to bring up Dashboard with F12, then click and hold on a widget then hit F12 again and drag the widget and it'd stay on the desktop. Now when I hit F12 again, the dashboard disappears, and so does the widget. I used the command
Code:
defaults write com.apple.dashboard devmode YES
so that shouldn't be the problem. I'd really like to be able to do this again, so anyone who can help, it will be greatly appreciated!

Here are the steps:
Code:
1. Open System Preferences.
2. Click on Mission Control.
3. Deselect Show Dashboard as a space.
4. In Terminal, enter the command 
   [COLOR="Red"][B]"sudo defaults write com.apple.dashboard demode YES[/B][/COLOR]
5. Exit terminal.
6. Logout of Lion.
7. Log back into Lion.
8. Open Dashboard (I do it by hitting F12).
9. Select the widget you want on the desktop and, 
   while dragging it, hit F12 again.  That closes 
   Dashboard and places the widget onto the desktop.

Here are the steps:
Code:
1. Open System Preferences.
2. Click on Mission Control.
3. Deselect Show Dashboard as a space.
4. In Terminal, enter the command 
   [COLOR="Red"][B]"sudo defaults write com.apple.dashboard demode YES[/B][/COLOR]
5. Exit terminal.
6. Logout of Lion.
7. Log back into Lion.
8. Open Dashboard (I do it by hitting F12).
9. Select the widget you want on the desktop and, 
   while dragging it, hit F12 again.  That closes 
   Dashboard and places the widget onto the desktop.