wireless connectivity problems

Codedogg220

Registered
Below is a problem I had which was responded to by a Tech named Dave. I have tried to reply to him but have not recieved an answer. Thanks for your help and patience!

Hello, I own the Siemens SpeedStream 6520 DSL Modem/Wireless Router and need help setting it up for wireless use with my Mac. I've looked on the Siemens website and called the help desk and haven't found any support for the modem/router that I have. My main problem is getting a wireless signal to my Airport Card on my Mac from the router. Also, I wasn't able to get any straight-forward instructions from the CD that came with the router and that's why I'm here. I've got everything on the Network settings set up with my router connection and all of the defaults set up but there's no signal on the Airport status screen. I'm new to the wireless internet thing, so I could have all the TCP/IP and countless other wireless settings completely wrong, so maybe you could point me in the right direction. Thanks so much for your time. Sorry if I completely lost you on this.

Sincerely,
Cody

Response(s)

On Nov 24, 12:51am Dave D. wrote

HI Cody,
Ok as long as you have a real Airport card, it should locate any usable network. Just try clicking on the "fan" icon near your Mac's clock and look at the popup menu. What choices does it show? If your Siemens is sending out a signal that is not a "CLOSED NETWORK" then you should see some kind of option under the Airport fan to join it.
Now, some routers do require a password to join their network. Often this can be a simple default password such as WLAN (that's it on Belkins often) or sometimes "wireless" is used or sometimes "admin" is used as a password. Even just the word "password" can be the actual password.
Try a few and see.
In your Mac, try the Airport setup assistant, too. Mostly, though, this works with an all Airport system on each end of the network.