XP PC crashes on Airport Extreme Network

Hermie

Registered
Hi,

Mac newbie here.

I just got a powerbook g4 with airport extreme and an airport extreme basestation. I configured the base station to connect to my PPPoe DSL and the powerbook connects wirelessly without a hitch (i see why people love macs). I then tried to add my PC running XP to the network through the base station's ethernet port and the PC is having major problems.

At first it would'nt connect at all. I believe I have the TCP/IP setting configured correctly on the PC (get IP automatically). I then deleted the existing PPPoe broadband connection on the XP machine (even though it wasn't enabled) and that for some reason allowed me to surf for about 2 minutes before the PC would spontaneously reboot.

Thinking that the PC might do better if it was connected to a wireless router designed for PC's (and that the wireless mac would easily join the network) i borrowed a friend's Netgear wireless router. I redid the PPPoe connection on the PC machine as well. I could ping the router from the PC and I could ping www.google.com but I could not access the router's admin function through a browser window. This made me think this was a browser issue but all the settings seem correct.

Getting even more frustrated with my PC, I went back to the original configuration with the Airport base station. I again had the same problem of not being able to open a browser window on the PC (the mac is wirelessly connected and surfing away) even though the PC is seemingly connected to the LAN, can ping the router, etc. I then again deleted the PC's PPPoe dsl connection (even though it wasn't enabled) and was finally able to get a browser window to access the internet...for about three minutes before the pc completely crashed to the dreaded bluescreen of death. I unplugged it from the airport router and it again crashed.

Any ideas as to why this might be happening?

Thanks much