Advantages & Disadvantages of Partitioning

BlingBling 3k12

Somewhere... dunno though
I am new to partitioning (both Windows and Mac platforms) and from what I've heard, partitioning a Hard Drive seems to be the way to go...

I will have a 60 GB Hard Drive in my new iMac

What will be on there? Music (about 3 gigs), Video (from my DV camcorder), and until I figure out how to network properly, that will probably be about it.

I figured that keeping it all without partitioning would be good... but from what I hear, partitioning speeds up the system.

Now, I don't want to totally f*ck it up the minute I get this (oh you have no idea how pissed my dad would get)... so would it all work fine without partitioning?

Thanks guys!
Casey (Bling)

I always give myself at least two partitions...

one for the operating system and programs and my desktop (where I keep tons of stuff)

The other ends up being a dumping ground

eventually it's cleaned out... but for the most part it's just storage space.

The benefit is that I can completely blow away my OS install without touching the other files. In my current setup I have my pictures folder aliased there, my music folder, fonts, and a few other things. After that it's just TONS of files.

-stephen

I suggest leaving the partitions as is until you get used to Mac OS X. Then possibly in a few months you could start worrying about setting up partitions.

I always partition my drive, one for Mac OS 9, one for Mac OS 10, and one as a storage dumpster. If YOU have more than one OS on the computer you should install each OS on a different partition so you can switch between the two at startup with the option key

I always partition my drive, one for Mac OS 9, one for Mac OS 10, and one as a storage dumpster. If [emphasis added] I had more than one OS on the computer I would definately partition since you could select which one to boot with using the option key.
Uh, didn't you just say that you have more than one OS?