Buy a Apple PowerMac G4 (Quicksilver)???

Discussion in 'Mac OS X System & Mac Software' started by The Mac, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. The Mac

    The Mac Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Question: Will this computer be good for some light movie editing and watching home videos and youtube? Cause my g3 is too slow to play any videos. I just want to know to get some advise if this is a really good deal or i should just save up more money and buy a newer mac. Thanks. Here the specs and pics.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. nixgeek

    nixgeek Mac of the SubGenius! :-)

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8,621
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Microsystems Tech for two elementary schools.
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Add some more RAM to it and you'll be fine. 1 GB shouldn't be too expensive nowadays. Install at least Tiger on that and you'll be set.
     
  3. icemanjc

    icemanjc I'm cool, I have a mac.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Wow, $50 dollars is a very good price for that computer!

    Also for movie editing, I kind of doubt that 40 GB will be enough since about 10 is already taken from the system and applications. Plus I'm sure your going to have other stuff besides videos.

    BTW, never realized the Quicksilver had gigabit Ethernet. (used to have one but power supply fried)
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is that bad? Also Im going to upgrade the hard to to 120gb and put tiger on it.
     
  5. nixgeek

    nixgeek Mac of the SubGenius! :-)

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8,621
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Microsystems Tech for two elementary schools.
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Yes it has GigE. That was introduced in one of the graphite Power Mac G4 models. As for whether good or bad, I'd say it's good but you'll only notice 1 Gb speed if the switch that it's connected to is also GigE and if the computer you're sharing files with also has a GigE network card. Otherwise, you won't notice a difference. It will only go as fast as the resource that you're trying to access (be it a 100 Mb switch, a PC with a slower network card, or Internet which is the slowest speed of all....unless you're in Japan, I guess :p).
     
  6. icemanjc

    icemanjc I'm cool, I have a mac.

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Yah, how come Japan gets like 100 mbps internet?!
     

Share This Page