Cannot Connect

amaloney

Registered
I posted this on the Apple site - no replies there.
Can anyone help me?

I am an absolute newbie to OS X.

I am using
G4 450MHz (named G4Al, also entered in OS X)
OS X 10.1.1 and OS 9.2.1 on same hard drive
Built-in ethernet
AsanteFast 10/100 nic [PCI Ethernet Slot B, Port 2 - as reported in IPNetRouter on OS 9]
gNAT 1.0b9 LaserWriterPro 630
Motorola cable modem from RoadRunner provider

Problems
(1) I cannot print. - do I turn on AppleTalk in the Network panel for the card "en1"? - if I use LPR what name/address do I use for the printer? - In any case, I get a report "server not found"

(2) I cannot access the internet - In the Network panel, for the built-in setting I have AppleTalk turned off. Setting to DHCP results in the wrong IP address (a 196. number, which I take to be my machine?) and the wrong mask. - Go->Servers shows "Local Network"

(3) HELP! - I do not even know where to go in OS X, in what order I should do things, what info to give you, nor how to use the terminal.

(4) Is there a good reference book I can purchase?

(5) I would like to start from scratch. Can I erase OS X without erasing my hard drive (It has OS 9.2.1 on it as well)? If so how do I do that?

(1) I cannot print. - do I turn on AppleTalk in the Network panel for the card "en1"? - if I use LPR what name/address do I use for the printer? - In any case, I get a report "server not found"

Yeah, I think AppleTalk should be turned on, since it's an AppleTalk printer, right? (my mac knowledge doesn't extend into the printer category too far). The ethernet card that you have depends on which one it's plugged into.. I would guess that the Asante PCI ethernet card would be en1, yes (where en0 would be the onboard ethernet).