Can't Install Windows 7 with Bootcamp

RonnieM

Registered
Hallo, I am new to Mac and to forums. I am trying to install Win 7 with bootcamp. I have a new MacBook Pro and I have bought an OEM version of Win 7 Ultimate. I downloaded it and burnt it to a DVD. The DVD boots on a windows PC but I have the following when I try installing it with bootcamp 3 which came with the installed OSX 10.6: When clicking the "install windows" button the screen goes grey, the computer restarts and then the screen goes black and stays that way. The Windows installation screen never appears. I have tried many items listed in many forums but with no success. There seems to be many similar issues around but I have been unsuccessful using them. Can anyone help? I surly hope so. ...Ronnie.

Holy crap $319 for Windows....

So if I remember right, the only way to get Windows is to buy the disc and not download it? Unless there's something I don't know.

Have you tried holding option when starting up and then selecting the disc from the menu of options or setting the Windows disc as the startup disc?

Thanks for the response.

The OEM version was $119.

Yes I have tried both ways you suggest. Usually by holding down option the other disc does not show up as a boot option. But if one makes the optical drive the start up disc the same thing happens. The black screen appears and just sits there until one restarts. Sometimes a message appears on a black screen that says a start disc can't be found... I have tried PRAM and SMC resets too. ...Ronnie.

Did you purchase the full install, and not just an upgrade?
OEM version does not include both 32-bit and 64-bit installs as the full version does.
Which did you purchase?

You 'believe' it's a full version? Don't you know for sure?
You got an authentication COA for that, which would describe which version you have.
It would be part of your download, I suppose...