Curious semi-technical question about a Mac Feature

ZeroAltitude

Registered
You know one thing that is very impressive about Macs, for someone coming from a PC world? It's that, when you make an alias, or a dock image of an application, you can *move the folder that the application is in without breaking the alias or dock image*.

I think that's amazing.

So could someone, preferably a system's engineer or a programmer, but anyone who knows would do, please tell me how this is done by MacOS? I am a programmer, and the idea of an alias or image that references a path to a file makes good sense, but... the mac doesn't have a registry, and so I can't really visualize how the MacOS can map these launchers to... to what? To a Finder-search pattern? To a special link to a filesystem inode that doesn't change when the file moves?

What gives? How do these guys make my life so damn easy? I'm a programmer -- I'm uncomfortable not knowing! ;)

Thanks,

And if like in X-windows, there are special files somewhere on my drive that Mac OSX uses for dock image references, or if there's a resource file that is used for the same, could someone point me to it so I could learn the features of that file/resource?

Rock on.

Well, aliases under MacOS using HFS/HFS+ behave rather uniquely. Each file, folder/etc. on your computer is given a unique id number. If you move the item, this id doesn't change, if you make a copy to another partition, HD, or just duplicate it, this copy will have a DIFFERENT id number.

So when you just move a target of an alias, it still knows what item is the real one, since it defaults to finding the item by id number, and opens it up rather than using the path that is also included in the alias for speed.