looking to get into unix

enathan1085

Registered
hey i'm running a TiPowerbook 15'' with OS 10.3.3 i wanted to familiarize myself with Unix b/c i want to use it on my powerbook. one of my programmer friends told me to download a unix OS onto my older Pentium 2 just to figure out how it works and to play around with it since there is nothing important on the older computer so it wouldn't matter if i screwed something up horribly. what i wanted to know was if anybody had a specific (preferrably free) Unix server that could run on a (lesse if i remember) 633Mhz P2 with prolly 32 MB ram and an 8 gig HD (at most). i just want to get relatively good with the Unix OS before i open up the ominous X11 terminal on my powerbook.

Don't fear the reaper - I mean the Terminal, man.
I'm just starting out with it myself, but have been hgappily tapping commands into it. All you need is some instructions - I've got "TerminalBasics.pdf" - can't remember where I got it from but it was probably O'Reilly or somwehere similar. I haven't yet managed to break my computer, so its not that fraught with peril....

Theres some useful stuff here:

http://www.oreillynet.com/
http://www.onlamp.com/bsd/
http://www.bsd.org/
http://www.freebsd.org/
http://www.netbsd.org/
http://www.openbsd.org/
http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO8859-1/books/handbook/index.html

OK those are mostly pure Unix links, but they might be useful. I'm still an absolute novice, but have lost my fear, which is the first step.

There are several distributions for Unix and Linux.

Your best bet would probably be to go for a Linux distro . . .

I suggest you Debian which you can download here.

As soon as you have downloaded the disc images, just burn them to CD and boot your P2 from the first CD. Afterwards just go through the installation.
If you got problems during the installation, just use this installation manual.