NSRunAlertPanel

Status
Not open for further replies.

dadidoe

Computer Pro :)
I have the following NSRunAlertPanel:

Code:
NSRunInformationalAlertPanel(@"The Serial provided was correct!", @"Thank you for registering WriteIt!.Keep your serial,name you registered with and e-mail you registered at a safe place, it may be needed later. Have fun using WriteIt!", @"OK", nil, nil);		

else
		NSRunCriticalAlertPanel(@"Serial Incorrect!", @"The Serial you have entered is incorrect.Please try again.", @"Retry", nil, nil);

How can I specify an action for the OK button? I need it to change a BOOL in my apps preference file.

i'm new to cocoa, could you maybe give me an example? because - (void)setState:(NSInteger)value does not tell me much. I have 2 checkboxes that need to be checked or unchecked (don't care what way).

any help is greatly apprechiated

The documentation describes what that NSInteger means. It needs to be one of the three constants defined for button states: NSOnState, NSOffState, or NSMixedState.

Quick example:

Code:
[myCheckbox setState:NSOnState]; //checks the box
[myCheckbox setState:NSOffState]; //unchecks the box

//Toggle like so:
if ([myCheckbox state]==NSOnState) [myCheckbox setState:NSOffState];
else [myCheckbox setState:NSOnState]

I will try this tomorrow...hope it works,it's the onliest thing missing in my apps licence dialog before release:)

I see you use mycheckbox as the name.Do I need to name the checkbox in the .h file or give it a Tag in interface builder?

There are two main ways to access controls from your code. One is to make an IBOutlet in your .h file and connect it to the control in Interface Builder. The other is to set the tag of the control in Interface Builder and do something like [[<window> contentView] viewWithTag:1].

The first option is probably the way to go, since it makes for simpler, more readable code.

ok this has partly worked. Yes, I defined the outlets here:

Code:
	IBOutlet NSButton *checkboxserial;