Perl: How do I "Require" or "Include" another perl script file?

Jasoco

Video Gamer/Collector
Say I have this one Perl file (page.pl) and I have a separate Perl file (subs.pl) that I want to call Subroutines in.

I'd keep the Subs in the subs.pl file and from my other PL file I would call the subroutine. But how do I "Require" or "Include" the "subs.pl" file?

This is the only thing holding me from a total site redesign.

Hello!

I am just learning CGI so I do not know if this is right but I think all you have to do is put the following line of code into your file underneath your #!/usr/bin/perl line:

Code:
require "subs.pl";

Let me know if this works.

Have a great day!

Albert

Nope. Doesn't work.

CGI Error

The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers. The headers it did return are:

Can't locate settings.pl in @INC (@INC contains: D:/activeperl/lib D:/activeperl/site/lib .) at D:\Inetpub\jasoco\cgi-bin\test.pl line 4.

Seems the test files I created aren't written right I guess?

test.pl
Code:
use CGI;
#!/usr/bin/perl

require "settings.pl";

print "Content-type: text/html\n\n";

&TestSub;

settings.pl
Code:
use CGI;
#!/usr/bin/perl

Sub TestSub {
print "Hello!";
}

Hello!

Is the file "settings.pl" in the same directory as your main CGI script? It will need to be. If this does not work try using the absolute path to "settings.pl"

Let me know what happens!

Albert

The Settings file is in the same directory as the Test file. The error page seems to imply the program is looking in its own directory for the files so I tired an absolute path (D:/Inetpub/jasoco/cgi-bin/settings.pl) Which seems to get passed THAT, but now I have a whole new error.

CGI Error

The specified CGI application misbehaved by not returning a complete set of HTTP headers. The headers it did return are:

syntax error at D:/Inetpub/jasoco/cgi-bin/settings.pl line 6, near "}"