after installing iTunes 4.9 (almost) none of my apps load

talcott

Registered
That is basically it. I installed iTunes 4.9 on my 12" Powerbook running 10.4 (Tiger) when it alerted me to the availability of the new iTunes download. After executing the required reboot, the only application besides Finder that will run now is Yahoo Messager. Nothing works. I can not even get Terminal.app or Preferences or Activity Monitor. The icons just bounce on the dock and then settle down or disappear but nothing happens. No little black triangle. No new windows. I tried to ssh in but it does not seem to let me in. I am pretty sure I opened it up for SSH.

I inserted the 10.4 install CD and I could not even launch the Installer. The mac does not seem to want to boot from the installation DVD so I really do not know where to go from here. I am new to Mac as of January but I am very experienced with Unix and Windows. This is sort of breaking my heart because I fell in love with Mac. Please somebody help me. :eek:

No don't feel like a noob. Something like that happen to almost everone at least once in the computing life.

One thing you might want to try in OS X is something I like to call preventive maintenance. OS X is based on BSD Unix so some Unix scripts that clear,consolidate automatic Unix logs (look at the logs in /Applications/Utilities/Console/). These scripts have an automatic archiver called CRON that runs late at night when Mac users usually Sleep or turn off their Macs. So a lot of enterprising Mac users made a whole collection on Applications that will run those scripts. I personnaly like small, one trick freeware programs. So use a program called MacJanitor. However, there are a lot more freeware programs that will do the same thing and a lot more.