Cloning Mac OS 10.2 from a laptop to an iMac

willmac

Registered
Hi all,
I have a Lombard Powerbook and iMac DV. Recently I have been neglecting the iMac and I need a way of keeping both systems up to date. Would it be possible via ethernet to clone my system from the Powerbook to the iMac?

Once I have done this I would like to be able to update modified files between the two machines. Therefore does anyone know of an open source file synchronisation app that I could use over ethernet?

Cheers

Will

See if you can use Retrospect to back up your iBook to the iMac... although it might try to overwrite the stuff that already exists there; I haven't used it before, so if you can access it, play around and see what you can do.

Psync sounds like a good option. Thanks for the info. I would like to use Retrospect but my budget won't allow it.

will

This is the nearest thread I could find to what I wanted and I hope I can ask this:

I have a PowerBook G4 with superdive permanently connected to the internet (dsl through a firewall) and I keep it very up-to-date with security and general software updates. Running OS 10.3.9 Darwin 7.9.0.

I have a family pack licence of the OS and three other macs: iBook G3 with combo drive and 2 iMac G3's, one combo, one cd drive only, I think (not used much).

Can I use my powerBook to act as a sort of base for the others to synch to to maintain the system updates and so on? I wondered if this were possible using the idea of a target startup (holding down T) on the ones I wanted to be updated by the powerBook and then what??? I have no idea what to do next, or even if anything is possible without using some third-party software (I don't have any).

I have a feeling - and I hope it is right - that I should be able to use the fully up-to-date system to maintain the others without having to go through the process of connecting them to the internet and updating each individually.

willmac said:
Hi all,