Disk utility problem erasing a large external hard drive

reid007

Registered
I am a Mac newbie so please bear with me with this request for advice. I just bought a Seagate 750 GB (698.6 Gb actual on disk) external firewire/usb drive as a backup device for my Intel iMac which has the same drive internally.
It mounted perfectly and as it came formatted as FAT32 I used disk utility to reformat as MAC OS Extended (Journaled). Mistakenly, in doing this I forgot to change the format, leaving it as MS-DOS. The erase process completed very quickly and realising my mistake I simply set it up to erase again with the desired format.

The process started but just went on for hours - I thought this might be because it was such a large drive. After four or so hours I thought it was hanging - no apparent sound from the drive, so I forced a quit.

I rebooted and reconnected the drive. It gave me the unable to read error, didn't mount and I reopened disk utility to try to erase again to restore things back to a base level. This time I left it for about 21 hours to eliminate any chance it was as a result of the large size of the drive and I had just been impatient previously - still nothing - Disk Utility just appeared to be working away on the erasure.

The drive appears in Disk Utility ok as 698.6 Gb Seagate, the single volume has been renamed (by the system, not me) to disk1s1 and any attempt to erase this volume has the same result.

Beside the spiraling activity indicator is the message : "newfs_hfs: /dev/rdisk1s1: partition size not a multiple of 4k" In the information below it says Mount Point: Not mounted; Format Mac OS Extended (Journal) and Capacity 698.6 GB; all other details are empty. No idea whether this is indicative of my problem.