Do you backup?

Viro

Registered
This will hopefully be a thread where everyone comes and shares their backup strategies (you do have one, I hope ;)). Say what medium you use, frequency of backup, what you backup and any *horror* stories you might have that would spur others to backup frequently!

I'll get the ball rolling. I backup to CD-Rs once at the beginning of every month. I don't have that much data as all my photos, word documents, latex files and source code all fit onto a CD easily. I don't use and iPod and all my music is on CDs so I don't back these up.

I've got no horror stories but this is what happened to a friend that finally convinced me to backup regularly. I had a friend who had completed his PhD and is lecturing. One day, his laptop got nicked and on it he had his thesis, his post-doctoral work, etc basically 5 years worth of work. Now he was lucky since he did an *annual* backup so at the most he lost a year's worth of work. As a PhD student myself, I can't afford to lose a year's work, so now I backup frequently onto CDs catalogued by the month.

Back when I was younger I didn't back my stuff up. The hard drive on my 3400 took a dump and I lost everything I had ever created from 6th grade up to probably 10th grade. Now that I'm older I have learned. The iPod holds my music and pictures (most important stuff in my opinion). My bank records, keychains, and other sensitive/important things are backed up on an encrypted disk image on a usb keychain. Then the whole user folder is backed up on an external hard drive. The one problem with this is that the laptop and hard drive are together almost all the time, so if something happens to the laptop (theft, fire, etc) chances are the same thing will bite the hard drive. And that's why the iPod and keychain are used; they're almost always on me and separate of the other stuff.

Documents I'm working on get backed up daily to a USB memory key.
My documents folder is backed up monthly.