Download options for iTunes Store?

mseydel

truculent
I'm a bit of a Noob when it comes to paying for my downloaded music.
Most of my existing music files are in .mp3 format, encoded at minimum 160 kbps...lots of these are from a few years ago, when SoundJam was cutting edge(sniff). What's odd is that even some random junk I acquired
(mostly *****) at 128 kbps sounds better than the 128 kbps AAC files that I've purchased recently from the iTunes Store. I don't see any place to change the quality of the download I'm paying for, but so far, I'm hella disappointed. I thought at first it was just a few poorly recorded tracks, which I couldn't blame on iTunes...but my ears really notice the difference on every track I've gotten off the iTunes Store, and they're not happy.
I thought in theory, AAC was supposed to provided smaller files with richer sound quality. Right? :confused:

there is no way to change the dl quality from itunes. bummer for your sensitive ears. mine dont notice.

You might want to edit the reference to an app often used for warez before it's edited and you're slapped on the hand.
Many are hoping that a future update will allow for customizing rate quality for aac files. That said, the 128 are considered a good medium for most "average users".

of course, the only things acquired through ***** were already in the public domain or songs I already had personal right to by owning the CD.

But a word to the wise: even MENTIONING them here is against the rules, as you'd see if you bothered to read the board rules. :)

mseydel said:
of course, the only things acquired through ***** were already in the public domain or songs I already had personal right to by owning the CD.
Does not matter. Consider yourself publicly warned.

What music files did you download from the iTMS? All of my 128k AAC files from the music store sound beautiful -- not exceptionally high quality, but high quality still. They definitely sound better than any MP3 encoded at 160k to me.