Dual Boot on Mac mini os x server

noybb

Registered
I have a new mac mini with os x server on it. It has two partitions and I tried to install mac os x onto the other partition so I could boot from that. I have an apple external dvd drive attached to the mini.

Everything went well, it allowed me to install to the partition I wanted. Then when it does a reboot it will not boot with the mac os x disk in the dvd drive and if I take it out it boots back to mac os x server partition. If I hold down the Option Key at the start it does not show me the partition with the os x on it.

Using finder I can see a bunch of pkg files in a folder called Mac OS X install Data on the partition I want to use. Is there a way of getting these to install?

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I am fairly new to macs.

Thanks.

What version of OS X are you trying to install on your mini? The version number will be printed on the label of the installer DVD. Unless you have a version that is newer than your mini shipped with, the install may not work, or may not boot or run properly.
Where did you get your OS X installer DVD?

What is your goal by installing OS X client? OS X server is already installed, and will do everything that the client version will do, plus make all the server stuff simple to use.

BTW, you don't have just two partitions - you have two separate hard drives, each with its own partition.

DeltaMac I am trying to install OS X 10.6.3 which I purchased from the Apple store.

I wanted to install the client because I can understand the security etc with it. I do not understand all the things with the Server version and do not want to expose myself to potential hackers etc.