Error Code -61?????????? What?

DICKSTER

Registered
:mad: WHEN I USE "GET INFO" ON MY INTERNAL EXTRA HD OR MY EXTERNA HD., IT SHOWS THEY ARE LOCKED AND IT'S GRAYED OUT. CAN'T GET THEM UNLOCKED. ! WHEN I TRY TO DELETE SOMETHING FROM THE HD'S. OR DRAG THEM TO THE TRASH I GET AN [ SORRY; ERROR CODE -61 ]. VERY FRUSTRATING. NO PROBLEMS DOING ANYTHING WITH MY MAIN HD. HAS LEOPARD CAUSED THIS? I NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS BEFORE.
THANKS ----DICKSTER-------------------------

good morning-nixgeek-i believe they are hfs+; i am at work now so can't ck. out. is it possible that both are full? maybe i messed up when first doing the time mache?
thanks-dickster

Hmm....i'm not on Leopard yet so I have no experience whatsoever with Time Machine. It's possible though, but hopefully someone with experience in Leopard can chime in...

cak- hi- I don't know what -61 wrpermErr is and what I can do about it. any ideas how to cure this thing???? thanks---Dickster

Seems as though it's saying that you cannot write to the drive since it's probably set to read only, something that you're already probably aware of. Have you tried the Get Info command on the hard drive to find out how it's formatted? Just control-click the hard drive icon in question and select Get Info. In there, it should tell you how the drive is formatted.

I have a feeling that it might be formatted NTFS. By default, NTFS is always mounted read-only unless you use NTFS-3G and MacFUSE (which will mount it writable, but takes a little bit of work to get it going).

Let us know what you find. Good luck!

nixgeek-both hd's are formatted hfs+journaled [ case sensitve]. looks like i'll have to wait til apple does an update on leopar-you think?
DICKSTER

nixgeek: all of my drives are formatted hfs+journaled--guess i'll wait on apple to refine leopard on the next up date if and when there is one-- thanks for help
dickster----------------------------------------------------------------------------