External drive changed the file type?

NickBurns

Mac Abuser
Hey guys,

I have a 500g AcomData external firewire drive that i use w/ one of my G4's running OS9.2. I have been using the drive for about 3 months with no issues.

Yesterday i went to work on some music files, and when i tried to open my session, a bunch of the drums were missing. When i went to the drive and looked in the actual folder, all the missing drums were there, but their icons read 'PC' and the music program wont recognize them?

Basically, i moved some files from my G4 to my external drive. They were initially Pro Tools files and the drive must have converted them to 'PC'.

When i do 'apple I' it doesnt say that any of the info/format has changed? But the Icon is different, and Pro Tools wont see it?

I have done this a bunch with all my other songs, for the past 3 months with no isssues...?

Is there anyway to change these files back to what they used to be? I would really appreciate any ideas, as this is a ton of work to have to re-do....Seriously. LOL

Thanks again guys,

I have a 500g AcomData external firewire drive that i use w/ one of my G4's running OS9.2. I have been using the drive for about 3 months with no issues.

Nothing was changed. MacOS 9 and MacOS X associate files to applications differently. MacOS 9 uses CREATOR/TYPE codes almost exclusively. MacOS X is much more flexible, but uses file extensions as the default.

Associating files to an application is not difficult:
  1. Within the MacOS X Finder, select one of your files.
  2. Press [Apple]+[ i ] or File>Get Info.
  3. Locate the Opens with: pop-up menu.
  4. Select your desired application from the list.
  5. Press the Change All... button.

Thanks for the reply.....

But i didnt say anything about OSX. I dont even have OS9 and OSX on the same machine? So how did it do this? I would literally have to move the files from the G4 with OS9 to the G4 with OSX to try out your idea.

Is there anyway to do this in OS9?