How do i change UID on OS X 10.5 ?

RC&D

Registered
Hi all :)

after days of head scratching and cursing our tech support guy (who doesnt know how to fix my problem!) i think ive found a solution, i jsut dont know how to fix it!

basically, ive got a new Imac running OS X 10.5 connecting to a windows server. I have been unable to copy or save anyhting to this server, even though another mac on the same network can.

Ive come to the conclusion (after much forum searching) that i need to change my UID from 501 to some unique that is not shared on the network. everything ive found how to do it only seems to apply to earlier versions of OS X.

can someone please help me? im fairly new to Macs, but i know my way around computers in general, so im not afraid to get my hands dirty with Terminal (which i assume is what im going to have to do.)

So! how do i change my UID? i saw something elsewhere saying that i hacve to change 2 things, the local UID and one for ALL the files on the computer, is that correct?

many thanks in advance :)

RC&D, I'm certainly no expert in this field but I did read something today that may help you. It concerned NetInfo Manager and creating a new "Group" regarding "Permissions".

I'm replying to your thread because I think that to create a new UID you might just need to use NetInfo Mgr ...

Please don't do anything until you hear from someone else about this as there may be another totally different approach to your issue that doesn't involve tinkering about in NetInfo at all ... :)

NetInfo, BTW, is in the Utilities Folder ...

A few questions to get a bit more info if I may. I assume you are connecting to a samba (smb) share on the windows system, is this the case ? If you et an error message what is it ?

Secondly do you have a username/password for this windows system ? If you do can you login to the other Mac and copy files ?