[How To] Reset the contextual menu of "Open With" in 10.6.x

Discussion in 'HOWTO & FAQs' started by Satcomer, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. Satcomer

    Satcomer
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    In Geostationary Orbit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    24
    Well like most everyone should have drives connected to their Mac and occasionally the "Open With" will have all the versions of software that I have on other drives (cloned drive). Well I have come across a /Applications/Utilities/Terminal command that will fix that. Just open Terminal and copy the command
    Code:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/CoreServices.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/LaunchServices.framework/Versions/A/Support/lsregister -kill -r -domain local -domain system -domain user 
    and let it run. This will reset the right click's "Open With" list to only show application on that one Mac. Just let it run (for about 15 second) until it gives you another prompt. It really works! :D
     

Share This Page