"I don't know"? - AppleCares Response

supanatral

Registered
Sorry guys, I need to go on a rant. I called up Apple today with a problem because when I copy files from one computer to the next, its been getting corrupted. When I copy it in Finder, it errors and then freezes there with 5 seconds left and doesn't ever finish or go away. I got the bright idea to do it in terminal because then it could at least give me an error and I actually got one to. So after I found the error, I called up AppleCare and told them the issue. Here was there response:

"We're not trained in Unix commands, so I don't know"

I'm a IT Manager for a windows environment and honestly, I would get fired (no joke) for telling someone that. Its understandable that they don't know everything, and I don't have a problem with them not knowing. I start to have a problem when they're unwilling to learn something new.

Another thing that I feel is odd is why their not trained in Unix, at least a little bit because it is good for diagnosing issues. If not that, then we all know that they're reading "Q-Cards" sort of speak where they read word for word what you need to do, they should at least be able to search through them to find out what the error means. But-hey, thats just one mans opinion

Did you speak with a higher level of tech support? I doubt that level 1 drones would know anything about anything, let alone Unix commands.

You know something, thats what I expected would happen when I was dialing the Applecare number but no. When she told me that she didn't know I asked her if I could speak to someone that did know and she said that no one knows anything about Unix commands, which I doubt. She finally spoke to someone else to ask them but she wouldn't put me on the line with them