IB Icons, updating controls, etc

macavenger

Registered
Several questions here. First, an easy one (I hope ;)) When answering, please keep in mind that I have very little programming experience:

1) How do you get icons/images into Interface builder? I have some pictures I designed in Photoshop that I want to add to my buttons, but I can't figure out how to get them into Interface builder. Makes me feel rather stupid. :(

Now for a few that may be a bit more complicated:

2) Where can I find info on how to make sheets in Carbon? Is it even possible? I have browsed over the developer documentation, but haven't found anything. I could easily have missed it though.

3) There is a spot in a program I am working on where it runs through a loop assigning random values to the spaces in an array (with a fairly complicated error checking function for each assignment). This process takes long enough that I would like to show a progress bar. However, I can't seem to get the progress bar to update during this process. Even if I set the progress bar to be indeterminate, it does not update. How can I fix this?

4) How can I set the keyboard focus to a certain text field when a window is opened? I tried using the SetKeyboardFocus(prefs,xSet,-1); function, but while it doesn't give me any errors, it doesn't work either.

5) similarly I am trying to set the display of a pop-up menu to the entry corresponding to the variable it sets using the function SetControlValue(difSet,(int)dif+1); where dif corresponds to the entry I want the menu set to, but again it doesn't seem to have any effect.

Thanks for any help that you can provide!

hi,

to answer a few of your questions:

3. before goint into the loop, use [yourProgressIndicator setUsesThreadedAnimation:YES];

4. what you're looking for is "initialFirstResponder" in ib. just connect your textfield to the window's outlet.

5. use selectItemAtIndex:

hth