• .mac

• Jaguar

• Both

• Neither

• I'm Herve

Results are only viewable after voting.

xaqintosh

Master of Reality
I'd like to know the general opinion here. Many people seem to be upset about .mac, many others seem to be upset about Jaguar. I personally think Jaguar is worth it, but .mac is pathetic :rolleyes:

I'm new to Apple so I didn't pay for 10.0 or 10.1 so Jaguar will be my first OS purchase for my PB G4 and I have no problem paying $69, down from $129, for it.

I can understand though how people who may have purchased 10.0, 10.1 and now 10.2 in the span of less that 2 years might feel a little burned. If they payed full price, that's near $400 for esentially 1 OS and two upgrades.

.mac is too expensive for such little substance. I wont be subscribing. Luckily I didn't use it before and have even less reason to use it now. I feel though for the people who truly relied on it. Not everyone has $100 anually to blow. Apple really worked these users over.

Originally posted by azosx
I can understand though how people who may have purchased 10.0, 10.1 and now 10.2 in the span of less that 2 years might feel a little burned. If they payed full price, that's near $400 for esentially 1 OS and two upgrades.

Yet another bunch of FUD. Are you Mr. Orlowski from The Register? Because your trolling sounds awfully familiar.

Let me show you something called "addition" and "subtraction":

Let's look at two people, one who has used Mac OS X since the public beta, and one who has used Mac OS X since Mac OS X 10.0:

Person 1: Using OS X since public beta:

Mac OS X public beta.... cost: $30
Mac OS X 10.0........... cost: $129 - $30 (coupon from public beta)
Mac OS X 10.1........... cost: Free upgrade.
Mac OS X 10.2........... cost: $129

Let's add that all up. $30 + ($129 - $30) + $129. You have a calculator on your Powerbook G4, no? $30 and -$30 cancel out. So you have $129 + $129. That makes.. what? $258.

Person 2: Using OS X since Mac OS X 10.0: