Just what is Apple Script?

nmm88

Registered
Ive heard a lot of things about this thing called Apple Script, which im sure all of you here know a ton about. It sounds intriguing, and i would like to know more about what it is, how to use it etc. Any info would be helpful! Thanks!

...an extreemely powerfull scripting addition to the MacOS. It has been around for several OS generations (Started in OS 7).

With it you can automate virtually all Finder tasks, and control many applications. Depending on the level of Applescript support within an app, you can do most of the things the application does automatically.

Applescript is a programming language, that is very 'high level' - ie it looks and sounds close to normal english. (As opposed to 'low level' languages that look and sound like computer code).

If you just want to get started, check out: http://www.apple.com/applescript/

Good luck.

I am also a Noob to applescript and have found the Book Teach Yourself AppleScript in 24 Hours by Sams to be an excellent book for those of us just starting to play in the world of applescript. hope that helps!

There are a lot of online resources. Applescript is very powerful, currently i made a few that... Run cron scripts (daily, weekly and monthly maintenance on my G4), sometimes i turn on my iTunes to AIM that i wrote about 2 years ago... this takes the current song and places it in my AIM away message, along with a nice formating to make it seem like a "Now playing...." I have folder actions to backup files to different partitions (still working out bugs), a custom AIM away message, dependent on who the person is, i can leave specific messages. Scripts to put my system to sleep from my cell phone (phone sends a email that triggers a script from Entourage, that does this or that)... and a few other mini scripts that I was curious about.