Loss of Files?

MLE

Upstate, New York
If I were to re-install OSX on my computer (it won't start up due to the flashing question mark).....will I have lost all of my music, movies, pictures?

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58042

Check out the link above first. The question you asked in a previous post has the same link in a reply from me.

Regarding your re-install question, someone who has done this can answer, but I don't believe that if you do a re-install you will lose your current data, as long as you don't reformat the disk. I've only done a re-install after reformatting the disk, so I have no experience with this, but someone else posted problem on here last week and said that he re-installed the OS several times to correct it. It was not corrected, according to him, but his settings and data were left in-tact, and that's what you care about, so you should be ok. The question is, will this fix your issue? Try the link about first before you re-install your OS.

A question for someone else: Will all his user account settings still be in tact, including his iLife apps' preferences and libraries, etc, after he does a re-install without first formatting his disk?

Your re-installation options depend on what you have done in the past. If you have upgraded OS X from the version you have on the install CDs you will have to do either an Archive & Install or an Erase & Install. The Archive & Install will save all of your current user data and settings. Complete instructions for performing an Archive & Install, including the available options for saving your user data will be found in Apple Knowledge Base article 107120. After the Archive & Install you will have to reapply all previously installed updates. If you are reinstalling OS X 10.4 (Tiger) you should also take a look at Apple Knowledge Base article 302350.

For OS X 10.2 (Jaguar) you should also look at Apple Knowledge Base articles 25430 and 25454.