Mac OS X help...

MaC hAcKeR

Not nut cracker!!!
Im new to OS X... used tp be a mac os 9 dude... but whatever...
1. Why does the finder icon in the dock say "Finder not running"?
2. How do I get rid of some menubars (like airport, displays, sound, ect.
3. Not a question... but Im on OS X.2.6 on a 12" PowerBook G4
Thanks!

Hold the Command key and drag the icons off the Menu Bar.

Do you have any Themes or third party hacks installed?

What happens when you double click on the Finder icon in the Dock?

If the Finder is actually working, then ignore it.

You can use the same Cmd- trick to drag items out of your Dock, off the top of your System Preferences, and actually off the top of any toolbar.

So are you enjoying your stay? Is it better than OS 9 or worse, in your opinion?

Originally posted by arden
If the Finder is actually working, then ignore it.

You can use the same Cmd- trick to drag items out of your Dock, off the top of your System Preferences, and actually off the top of any toolbar.

So are you enjoying your stay? Is it better than OS 9 or worse, in your opinion?
I got it to work... not sure how...
and I miss OS 9... Mac OS X is still cool tho.

Originally posted by arden
Well, that's what Classic is for.
I would be into classic in a heartbeat... but this PowerBook can't boot into OS 9, only OS X :grr:

And that stupid finder is broken again... :grr:
*sigh* looks like imma have to learn myself some Linux.

Oh, and this damn airport printer isnt working. I know the stylus photo 820 from epson IS airport compatibe, says on apples website, it was working before, now this damn thing dont even see it.

M.H.:

"Classic" is OS 9 emulation in OS X. You don't have to reboot to use it. Any Mac, even those who won't boot OS 9, will run Classic.

Of course, you may have to install OS 9 so you can use emulation. Pop in your 9 disc and install it.

Finder: How exactly is it broken. Is it not running?

Doug