Mac OSX 10

techpro

Registered
Hello,

I am a student who is looking into buying a Mac OS computer. However, before I spend the money on a Mac, I wanted to try out the operating system. I was hoping that somone had a Mac OS 10.0 or 10.1 that I could buy from them so I could try it out. However, since I am a student, I can't pay very much for it. Please email me at: techpro08@yahoo.com if you could could sell me one.

Thank You

Mac OS 10.2 would be nice, but $39 is too much for me to just try it out. I would like a a lot lower. I was hoping that someone had Mac OS 10.0 or 10.1 that they were not using anymore and I could buy it off them.

Might be helpful to know which model Mac you have now?

I hope you are not considering trying OS X on a PC - fine for a hobbyist, but for more normal users would be a challenge....

Just for your information - OS X 10.0 is really a beta, and quite slow - not a good representation of OS X. 10.1 is a big improvement (although still not close to newer versions for stability and speed), and most newer software now requires at least 10.2, which again is a large improvement over earlier versions.
Do you know ANYONE with a reasonably new Mac (maybe less than 2 or 3 years old) that you could simply try out for a couple of hours, just to get an idea about OS X?
Most Apple retailers would let you try out a Mac on display, which can help you discover some of the advantages provided by OS X - and you get to try some of the great new hardware that Apple has now. (which won't run older versions of OS X, BTW :) )

um... as per board rules it is not fine for a hobbyist, it's still illegal. you can't use the the mac os on any computer that isn't a mac. there has not been a pc compatible release of the Mac OS in 15 years.

if you want to try mac os x, go to an apple shop, you could find a friend with a mac, or you could go to a library or internet cafe with macs.

one thing is assured, you'll probably love it.