Macbook & 1TB HD

killerinc

Registered
Hello i am working on a Macbook A1181 13" White Laptop.

I tried two of the exact same drives and still i cant get a 1 tb Western Digital 9.5mm drives brand new drives to install the original OS X Disks. Held down C and tried to install OS X on it and no drive showed up then ran Disk Utility and it showed as a 7.3 Tb drive. Tried to Erase got the Disk Erase Failed ... Input/Output Error. Then tried to partition and got the same error.

I am a repair tech and have done this many times but cant figure this one out.

500 gb is the biggest drive i can get to work properly but the drive is full and needs a bigger drive.

Has anyone figured this out cuz it cant be 2 bad drives and it seems like a drive limit issue. Read somewhere else that someone has the same issue but with a 640 GB Drive that reads as a 5.5 Tb.
Is 500gb the biggest that will work?
Thanks.

Yeah thats what is baffling cuz it should be fine. One thing though is that if i put back the 500gb or put in a brand new 500gb it works fine. Why anything over 500 gb wont work is a mystery.

I've seen the same issue a few times recently with those old 10.4.x OEM Intel installers and newer drives. Use a retail 10.5.x or 10.6.x installer and everything will work fine. Maybe something with the firmware on these newer drives that don't mesh with the installers code.

Thx i will try that DJ.
Update.... I purchased a new 500gb which what was in there and it read during the installation 3.3tb . So i think it might be an issue with the controller on the motherboard. It's reads the all the drives but at a higher capacity. But still cant install OS X

Thx i will try that DJ.
Update.... I purchased a new 500gb which what was in there and it read during the installation 3.3tb . So i think it might be an issue with the controller on the motherboard. It's reads the all the drives but at a higher capacity. But still cant install OS X