Mail.app 2 or Thunderbird 2?

twister

Howdy
I've been using Thunderbird 2 for quite some time now and I'm happy with everything except 1 thing; fonts.

It seems that what I see on screen when I compose an email and what Outlook users see when they get an email is completely different. So bad, that as a designer, I feel embarrassed. Outlook fonts are either a different font face or much larger.

I want all fonts to look the same regardless of who the receiver is.

Even though the font issue is big, I've got some great plugins in Thunderbird and it's working well.

Do you feel it's worth it to convert everything? Or ignore the font issue?

I'm running 10.4 on the machine in question.

Thanks

(Fellow designer here)

Remember that shared fonts between macs and pcs are very limited. Try to think of the lowest common denominator as a web page. Use fonts like Georgia, Arial, Trebuchet, and Verdana. I know they aren't very creative, but all PC computers in the entire world have these fonts and you can't go wrong with them.

If you start using your more "designy" fonts your PC recipients of your emails won't view them in anything but the above mentioned fonts.

Hope that helps!

Agreed. But Thunderbird doesn't set a font size based on pixel or point. It's smaller or bigger. So what looks like Arial 11 on my screen looks like Arial 14 on Outlook 2007 when received. Not cool.

Example:
Thunderbird Font
Outlook Font

Understood, but you don't have much control over that, if at all. A user can set their font to be whatever their computer has and totally override the one you've set. Too big a problem to get around.

Have you thought about creating an HTML email? You can send it yourself through Mail, and I think Thunderbird can manage it as well. All links have to be absolute (starting with http://www.) rather than relative, and styles would need to be "inline" (no linked css, all styles in the html itself).

This seems like your best solution at this point.